titel-alternative-mit-text
img_1168
img_2920
img_2935
img_6450
img_2916
img_2937
img_5030
img_8926
img_3913
img_9262
img_9263
img_9288
img_4307
img_4497

Museum Draiflessen Collection - LED conversion architectural & museum lighting

Case Study Conversion to sustainable LED lighting

Category: Arts & Culture, Specials

LED Light in Museums - The Art of Lighting Art
The collaboration between the KOBER Lichtplaner and the Museum Draiflessen Collection began about 10 years ago. Due to the EU lamp ban, the replacement lamps required for the 400 halogen spotlights used to illuminate the temporary exhibitions are no longer available. In addition, the high energy consumption and high maintenance costs due to the short life cycles of the analogue lamps were key factors in a project to convert the architecture and exhibition areas to sustainable LED lighting.

Exhibition lighting
The Draiflessen Collection had a large inventory of high quality spotlights for exhibition lighting. The lights were about 10 years old and thus came from a time when LED technology - unlike today - did not yet meet the requirements of high-quality museum lighting. The spotlights used used 50-100W halogen lamps, which have a very good color rendering spectrum, but from today's perspective also have some serious disadvantages compared to the most modern LED museum spotlights: very high energy consumption, high heat input with corresponding additional costs for air conditioning (ratio 1:2 of connected load light necessary air conditioning energy), high UV and IR damage factor, high maintenance costs, strong shift in color temperature when dimming, scattered light due to the use of reflectors, lamps can no longer be obtained due to the EU lamp ban.

Based on the design and lighting possibilities of the latest LED technology, extensive comparative samples and calculations were carried out with spotlights from leading manufacturers. By switching from reflector technology to projection technology with high-performance polymer lenses, stray light could be completely avoided for more dramatic accentuation, and the energy consumption of the exhibition lighting was reduced by 83% compared to the previous lighting. Special light distributions such as contour spotlights for sharp-edged illumination of images were used, as were variable zoom spotlights with flexible oval or rotationally symmetrical light distributions. A high-power LED chip with 3,500 degrees Kelvin and CRI92 L90B10 was selected in various test lighting. This means that the new exhibition lighting is significantly cooler and therefore "fresher" illuminated than was previously possible with conventional lamps. For many visitors, the light now appears more "objective" and "neutral" for art. Mock-ups were also carried out with tunable white spotlights, among other things, or the latest Casambi Bluetooth light controls were tested or special accessories for optimal exhibition lighting were developed with lighting manufacturers.

Architectural lighting foyer
Until now, the spacious foyer area has mainly been illuminated by light coves with fluorescent lamps. In addition to saving electricity (56%) through more efficient LED light lines in the coves, the topic here was improving the quality of light. Fluorescent lamps change their spectrum and light color as they age - sometimes differently from lamp to lamp. As a result, homogeneous and uniform lighting can only be achieved with a very high level of maintenance. The new LED technology can be installed in the existing coves with little structural effort after preliminary design planning by KOBER light planners.

Project planning, TCO calculation, funding programs
In addition to the design and lighting tasks, the engineers at KOBER also supported the lighting planners in the project planning when calculating the energy savings and amortization of the LED refurbishment as part of a TCO (Total Cost of Ownership) analysis. The commercial preparation of the award talks was just as much a part of the scope of services as the analysis of alternative financing models such as the rental of luminaires or light leasing. In addition, suitable funding programs for energy-related renovations were researched and the corresponding applications were successfully submitted. Finally, the installation was accompanied and the new system illuminated.

Emil Nolde – a critical approach by Mischa Kuball
The new exhibition lighting was used for the first time as part of the exhibition "Emil Nolde - a critical approach by Mischa Kuball" 2020. More information can be found in the project report.

Further case studies or services for LED conversion in the museum can be found here:
Folkwang Museum Essen
Museum Münster
LED Museum Workshop

titel-alternative-mit-text
img_1168
img_2920
img_2935
img_6450
img_2916
img_2937
img_5030
img_8926
img_3913
img_9262
img_9263
img_9288
img_4307
img_4497

Museum Draiflessen Collection - LED Architektur- & Museumsbeleuchtung

Case Study Umrüstung auf nachhaltige LED-Beleuchtung

Kategorie: Kunst & Kultur, Specials

LED Licht im Museum - The Art of Lighting Art

Vor ca. 10 Jahren begann die Zusammenarbeit der KOBER Lichtplaner mit dem Museum Draiflessen Collection. Für die im Einsatz befindlichen 400 Halogen-Strahler zur Ausleuchtung der Wechselausstellungen sind notwendige Ersatzlampen durch das EU-Lampenverbot nicht mehr erhältlich. Darüber hinaus waren der hohe Energieverbrauch und die hohen Wartungskosten durch die kurzen Lebenszyklen der analogen Lampen ausschlaggebend für ein Projekt zur Umrüstung auf nachhaltige LED Beleuchtung für die Architektur und die Ausstellungsbereiche.

Ausstellungsbeleuchtung
Die Draiflessen Collection verfügte über einen großen Bestand hochwertiger Strahler für die Ausstellungsbeleuchtung. Die Leuchten waren ca. 10 Jahre alt und stammten somit noch aus einer Zeit, in der die LED-Technologie - anders als heute - die Anforderungen von hochwertiger Museumsbeleuchtung noch nicht erfüllt hat. Die verwendeten Strahler nutzten 50-100W Halogenlampen, welche ein sehr gutes Farbwiedergabespektrum aufweisen, jedoch aus heutiger Sicht auch einige gravierende Nachteile gegenüber modernsten LED Museumsstrahlern haben: sehr hoher Energieverbrauch, hoher Wärmeeintrag mit entsprechenden Mehrkosten für die Klimatisierung (Verhältnis 1:2 von Anschlussleistung Licht zu notwendiger Klimatisierungsenergie), hoher UV- und IR-Schädigungsfaktor, hoher Wartungsaufwand, starke Verschiebung der Farbtemperatur beim Dimmen, Streulicht durch Reflektornutzung, Lampen wegen EU-Lampenverbot nicht mehr zu beschaffen.

Ausgehend von den gestalterischen und lichttechnischen Möglichkeiten der neusten LED-Technik wurden umfangreiche vergleichende Bemusterungen und Berechnungen mit Strahlern führender Hersteller durchgeführt. Durch den Wechsel von Reflektortechnik auf Projektionstechnik mit Hochleistungspolymerlinsen konnte zum einen Streulicht für eine dramatischere Akzentuierung komplett vermieden werden, und der Energieverbrauch der Ausstellungsbeleuchtung um 83% gegenüber der bisherigen Beleuchtung reduziert werden. Speziallichtverteilungen wie z.B. Konturenstrahler für randscharfe Ausleuchtung von Bildern wurden ebenso eingesetzt wie variable Zoom-Strahler mit flexiblen ovalen bzw. rotationssymmetrischen Lichtverteilungen. In verschiedenen Probebeleuchtungen wurde ein High-Power-LED-Chip mit 3.500 Grad Kelvin und CRI92 L90B10 ausgewählt. Damit ist die neue Ausstellungsbeleuchtung deutlich kühler und somit "frischer" beleuchtet als die mit konventionellen Leuchtmitteln bisher möglich war. Für viele Besucher wirkt das Licht für die Kunst nun "objektiver" und "neutraler". Auch wurden Mock Ups u.a. mit Tunable-White-Strahlern durchgeführt oder neuste Casambi Bluetooth Lichtsteuerungen getestet bzw. Sonderzubehör für die optimale Ausstellungsbeleuchtung mit Leuchtenherstellern entwickelt.

Architekturbeleuchtung Foyer
Der großzügige Foyerbereich wurde bisher im Wesentlichen durch Lichtvouten mit Leuchtstofflampen beleuchtet. Neben der Stromeinsparung (56%) durch effizientere LED-Lichtlinien in den Vouten war das Thema hier die Verbesserung der Lichtqualität. Leuchtstofflampen verändern Spektrum und Lichtfarbe während der Alterung - teilweise von Lampe zu Lampe unterschiedlich. Dadurch wird nur mit sehr hohem Wartungsaufwand eine homogene und gleichmäßige Beleuchtung erzielt. Die neue LED-Technik kann nach konstruktiver Vorplanung durch KOBER Lichtplaner mit geringem baulichen Aufwand in den bestehenden Vouten verbaut werden.

Projektierung, TCO-Berechnung, Förderprogramme
Neben den gestalterischen und lichttechnischen Aufgaben unterstützten die Ingenieure von KOBER Lichtplaner im Rahmen der Projektierung auch bei der Berechnung der Energieeinsparung und der Amortisation der LED-Sanierung im Rahmen einer TCO (Total Cost of Ownership) Analyse. Die kaufmännische Vorbereitung der Vergabegespräche gehörte ebenso zum Leistungsumfang wie die Analyse alternativer Finanzierungsmodelle wie Leuchtenmiete oder Lichtleasing. Im weiteren wurden geeignete Förderprogramme für energetische Sanierungen recherchiert und die entsprechenden Anträge erfolgreich gestellt. Abschließend erfolgte die Begleitung der Installation und das Einleuchten der neuen Anlage.

Emil Nolde – a critical approach by Mischa Kuball
Die neue Ausstellungsbeleuchtung wurde erstmalig im Rahmen der Ausstellung "Emil Nolde – a critical approach by Mischa Kuball" 2020 eingesetzt. Mehr Informtionen dazu finden Sie im Projektbericht (LINK einfügen!).

Weitere Case Studies oder Services für LED Umrüstung im Museum finden Sie hier:
Folkwang Museum Essen
Stadtmuseum Münster
LED Museumsworkshop