Engineers & Architects for Architectural Lighting Design

We are lighting engineers and lighting architects.
We think and act in light.
Our building material is light, a medium that is invisible but that makes everything visible.
We give the daytime architecture of buildings another form of appearance in the dark – the architecture of night.
We plan and compute light in quantitative terms and compliant to standards.
We design light for people, light for well-being, light for work and light for orientation.
We create atmosphere through light!

We are lighting engineers and lighting architects.

2_1_mod

Our inspiration

We are inspired by light in all its facets: an invigorating sunrise, a glowing red sunset, the diffuse light of clouds, the brilliance of the sun’s rays, warm campfires – nature itself provides all the inspiration for the creative approaches of our lighting design.
Whether for museum or commercial applications, we use the creative power of the medium of light and emphasise the architectural concept of a building. For us, impeccable light becomes second nature. In addition to designing artificial light, daylight design is also part of our holistic concept.

We think and act in light.

3_buero-gruendung-team

Our Team

Since our establishment in 2006, our lighting design practice has performed all lighting design tasks in architecture and art and exhibition design. In recent years we have also been increasingly designed lighting for new work office spaces. Our team combines an innate comprehension of architecture with high levels of engineering expertise to achieve holistic lighting solutions. We understand light as the fourth dimension of architecture.

team

Our core values

We are lighting engineers and lighting architects and integrate our concepts seamlessly into the overall architectural concept of a building project. We are a team of qualified lighting designers, engineers, architects, interior designers and landscape architects with additional qualifications in lighting design. We are operating in lighting technology, architecture and on construction sites in practice.

Our building material is light, a medium that is invisible but that makes everything visible.

joi-design_olympus-campus-hamburg_credits-christian-kretschmar-for-joi-design-570
1
bl006_0134_319_mod-1408x670-q80
img_3178-1408x939-q80
jl16069-1072-1408x995-q80
img_3512-1408x939-q80
tma_120818_01_0117_web_image_web-1408x938-q80
joi-design_olympus-campus-hamburg_credits-christian-kretschmar-for-joi-design-796
promenaden-l-04-fin-1408x841-q80
joi-design_olympus-campus-hamburg_credits-christian-kretschmar-for-joi-design-835

Our design approach
Our lighting design methods harmoniously combine people, technology and culture. Our concepts harmonise architecture, structure, colour, material, function and regulatory requirements. The costs of the lighting installation, its maintenance complexity and energy consumption are always taken into account.
Light is a medium that in itself is invisible, but renders objects visible on which it is cast. Thus, light is the basis of all visual tasks and the nocturnal appearance of architecture.

Light attracts people to salesrooms and creates atmosphere day and night. We combine daylight planning and artificial light planning to create a holistic lighting concept – in terms of design, technology and energy efficiency. In everything, people are the focus (Human Centric Lighting).

We strive to handle this medium in a creative and technically sensitive and responsible manner. Particularly in the illumination of art, the effect of shadowing plays a highly important role in addition to light. The conservational needs of artworks are always taken into account.

Methodically, we structure our designs according to the three tenets of American lighting design pioneer Richard Kelly: focal glow, ambient luminescence and play of brilliants.

In our projects we consider atmospheric, architectural, conservational and design specifications as well as the technical interfaces, e.g. to electrical planners, electrical contractors, ceiling constructors and luminaire manufacturers.

We give the daytime architecture of buildings another form of appearance in the dark – the architecture of night.

bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-15.42.19

Our way of working

The way we work is based on the service phases of the German Regulations on Architects’ and Engineers’ Fees (HOAI - Honorarordnung für Architekten- und Ingenieursleistungen):

Analysis: We place high value on intensive analysis. We aim to work with our clients to understand the exact requirements and objectives of a project. We do not start with luminous intensities or luminaires, but try to establish the desired lighting effect and spatial impact, to transpose the colour ambience of the architecture and materials into colour temperatures of the light, to analyse the functionality and use of the building in detail and to differentiate according to circulation zones, common areas and work areas. We always focus on optimal use by people.

We plan and compute light in quantitative terms and compliant to standards.

5_2

Preliminary design/design:

Illuminating a museum is fundamentally different to illuminating an office or a shopping mall. Our design approach is qualitative lighting design based on the principles of perception psychology (HCL: Human Centric Lighting). In contrast to purely quantitative lighting designs, we start with the visual perception of lighting by the user, visitor or customer. This may differ fundamentally from a lighting design based purely on homogeneous levels of illuminance. For orientation in buildings we place high importance on the uniform illumination of walls (referred to as wallwashing) instead of floor surfaces, since, due to evolutionary reasons, humans have 80% of their perception on vertical surfaces and not on the ground. We use this approach to create atmosphere and well-being, while at the same time significantly reducing the energy-related connected load of the lighting system.

bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-15.56.53

Visual comfort, i.e. the consistent avoidance of glare, is one of our primary design approaches. Eyes subjected to glare experience rooms and spaces darker than they actually are, and they tire more quickly. Glare also distracts from exhibits or product displays. Visual comfort can only be measured to a limited extent, but it is immediately perceived by users. You are welcome to experience these effects in our workshops or during sampling sessions. We present our designs by using mood boards, visualisations, 3-D simulations and, of course, lighting calculations for compliance with standards.

We design light for people, light for well-being, light for work and light for orientation.

bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.17.14
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.18.06
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.16.13
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.27.19
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.16.45

Execution planning
Following joint approval of the design, we initiate the intensive phase of project scheduling. Our focus is always on the 'constructability' and 'feasibility' of the lighting solution. Our many years of experience and architectural background are paying off – lighting technology, building physics, electronic technology, control technology and, ultimately, compliance with the budget are just a few of our principles.

We plan in 2-D and 3-D (CAD & BIM) and various lighting design and simulation programmes. In some cases we draw construction details on a scale of 1:1 and develop and build special solutions and custom luminaires as needed. In addition to the energy balance, we provide detailed costing including TCO (Total Cost of Ownership) analysis.

We sample various luminaires and light sources with original materials and colours. We keep an extensive stock of sample luminaires and photometric accessories, or we procure specific luminaires for your project sampling needs quickly through our direct contacts to all renowned luminaire manufacturers.

We create atmosphere through light!

8

Performance specifications & tendering:

A good tender is based on precise performance specifications. We support the entire process of tendering, supplier discussions and final contract award. As planners, we are committed to the construction client and are manufacturer-independent. Only a clear demarcation of systems and technical interfaces guarantees smooth implementation downstream in the realisation phases and avoids undesirable reworking. We maintain good contacts with craftsmen, wholesalers and use our direct contacts with luminaire manufacturers for larger projects.

8_4

Building supervision & artistic direction:

Many projects ultimately fail in the implementation stage. We accompany realisation as part of construction management or in the form of artistic direction to ensure that the design signature is implemented in the desired quality. In particular, consistent interface management between construction client, general contractor, architects, electrical planners and electrical contractors is a key success factor and is based on the experience harnessed from more than 150 completed projects.

And sometimes we like to roll up our sleeves ourselves...

8_3

Commissioning:

On every film set and in every theatre the commissioning stage is an exciting moment and provides the finishing touch before things get started and the atmosphere becomes magical. The commissioning process in architectural projects follows after installation of the luminaires: in addition to precise alignment of the luminaires and the attaching of additional optical accessories, this phase includes the setting of colour locations, dimming values and lighting scenes.
It is only through commissioning that an optimum is extracted from planning, lighting design and installed hardware. This is also where our experience in stage and theatre lighting comes in.
We love this work and do not shy away from heights...

case-studies

Case Studies & Workshops:

We have prepared case studies and offer workshops on various topics of lighting design:

Case Study Light4Work I Lighting design concepts for modern working environments

Case Study Museum Draiflessen Collection - LED upgrading for architectural & museum lighting

Please do not hesitate to contact us!

bl006_0134_0076-1408x935-q80
joi-design_olympus-campus-hamburg_credits-christian-kretschmar-for-joi-design-1370
img_7669_kp-1408x746-q80
jl16069-1072-1408x995-q80
promenaden-l-04-fin-1408x841-q80
unknown-4-1280x853-q80
wahrnehmung-05
aussenansicht-nacht-hyperion-hotel-leipzig_aufloesung-internet-1408x939-q80
credo
joi-design_olympus-campus-hamburg_credits-christian-kretschmar-for-joi-design-796

Our projects
Converting a listed UNESCO World Heritage coal washing plant into a museum requires entirely different approaches and lighting design concepts than the construction of a new shopping mall of 100,000 square metres. We implement lighting solutions for exhibitions, new construction projects, renovations, revitalisations of industrial heritage architecture and energy consulting to optimise existing lighting installations. Our head office in Dortmund in the heart of the Ruhr region allows us to support projects on site throughout Europe due to the region’s ideal transport connections.
Find some of our projects here.

Contact

We would be happy to discuss your project in person at a non-binding meeting to get to know each other.

Contact us here!

Ingenieure und Architekten für ganzheitliche Beleuchtungslösungen

Wir sind Lichtingenieure und Lichtarchitekten.
Wir denken und handeln in Licht.
Unser Baumaterial ist Licht, ein Medium, welches unsichtbar ist, jedoch sichtbar macht.
Wir geben der Tagarchitektur von Gebäuden eine Erscheinungsform bei Dunkelheit – die Nachtarchitektur.
Wir planen und berechnen Licht quantitativ und normgerecht.
Wir planen Licht für Menschen, Licht zum Wohlfühlen, zum Arbeiten, Licht zur Orientierung.
Wir schaffen Atmosphäre durch Licht!

Wir sind Lichtingenieure und Lichtarchitekten.

2_1_mod

Unsere Inspiration

Wir sind inspiriert durch Licht in jeder Form: belebender Sonnenaufgang, glutroter Sonnenuntergang, diffuses Wolkenlicht, brilliante Sonnenstrahlen, warmes Lagerfeuer – die Natur gibt alle Anregungen für die gestalterischen Ansätze unserer Lichtplanung.

Ob museal oder kommerziell – wir nutzen die gestalterische Kraft des Mediums Licht und betonen das architektonische Konzept eines Gebäudes. Wir lassen perfektes Licht selbstverständlich werden.

Wir denken und handeln in Licht.

3_buero-gruendung-team

Unser Team

Seit der Gründung 2006 befassen wir uns als Lichtplanungsbüro mit allen lichtplanerischen Aufgaben im Bereich der Architektur und des Kunst- und Ausstellungswesens. Unser Team kombiniert Architekturverständnis und Ingenieurskompetenz zu ganzheitlichen Beleuchtungslösungen. Wir verstehen Licht als die 4. Dimension der Architektur!

In unserem Selbstverständnis sind wir Lichtingenieure und Lichtarchitekten und integrieren unsere Konzepte nahtlos in das architektonische Gesamtkonzept des Bauvorhabens.

Unser Baumaterial ist Licht, ein Medium, welches unsichtbar ist, jedoch sichtbar macht.

1
bl006_0134_319_mod-1408x670-q80
div-161121-01-001-bearbeitet_kp3-1408x754-q80
div_121121_01_0101_web_image_web-1408x938-q80
img_3178-1408x939-q80
img_3332-1408x939-q80
img_3512-1408x939-q80
jl16069-1072-1408x995-q80
promenaden-l-04-fin-1408x841-q80
tma_120818_01_0117_web_image_web-1408x938-q80

Unsere Entwurfshaltung
Unsere Lichtplanungsmethoden verbinden Menschen, Technik & Kultur harmonisch miteinander. Unsere Konzepte bringen Architektur, Struktur, Farbe, Material, Funktion und natürlich auch normative Anforderungen in Einklang. Dabei stehen aber auch die Kosten der Beleuchtungsanlage, Wartungsaufwand und Energieverbrauch stets in der Betrachtung.

Licht ist ein Medium, dass selber unsichtbar ist, jedoch sichtbar macht, sobald es auf ein Objekt trifft. Somit ist Licht die Grundlage sämtlicher Sehaufgaben und der nächtlichen Erscheinungsform der Architektur.

Licht lockt Leute in Verkaufsräume – Licht schafft Atmosphäre bei Tag und bei Nacht. Wir verbinden Tageslicht und Kunstlicht zu einer ganzheitlichen Lichtplanung.

Unser Bestreben ist es, mit diesem Medium gestalterisch und technisch sensibel und verantwortungsvoll umzugehen. Insbesondere bei der Beleuchtung von Kunst spielt neben dem Licht insbesondere die Schattenwirkung eine sehr bedeutende Rolle. Konservatorische Belange der Kunstobjekte werden dabei stets berücksichtigt.

Methodisch strukturieren wir unsere Entwürfe nach der "Grammatik des Lichts" des amerikanischen Lichtpalnungspioniers Richard Kelly: Licht zum Sehen, Licht zum Hinsehen und Licht zum Ansehen.

In unseren Projekten berücksichtigen wir sowohl die atmosphärischen, architektonischen, konservatorischen und gestalterischen Anforderungen, als auch die technischen Schnittstellen z.B. zu Elektroplanern, Installateuren, Deckenbauern oder Leuchtenherstellern.

Wir geben der Tagarchitektur von Gebäuden eine Erscheinungsform bei Dunkelheit – die Nachtarchitektur.

bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-15.42.19

Unsere Arbeitsweise

Unsere Arbeitsweise lehnt sich dabei an die Leistungsphasen der HOAI (Honorarordnung für Architekten- und Ingenieursleistungen) an:

Analyse: Auf eine intensive Analysephase legen wir besonderen Wert. Wir wollen mit unseren Kunden zusammen verstehen und herausarbeiten, was genau die Anforderungen und Zielsetzungen im Projekt sind. Wir beginnen dabei nicht mit Lichtstärken oder Leuchten, sondern versuchen die angestrebte Licht- und Raumwirkung herauszuarbeiten, das Farbklima der Architektur und Materialien in Farbtemperaturen des Lichtes zu übersetzen, die Funktionsweise und die Nutzung des Gebäudes im Detail zu analysieren und nach Verkehrszonen, Aufenthaltsbereichen und Arbeitsbereiche zu differenzieren. Dabei steht stets die optimale Nutzung durch den Menschen im Vordergrund.

Wir planen und berechnen Licht quantitativ und normgerecht.

5_2

Vorentwurf/Entwurf:

Die Beleuchtung eines Museums unterscheidet sich grundlegend von der eines Büros oder einer Shoppingmall. Basis unserer Entwurfshaltung ist die qualitative Lichtplanung, die auf den Grundlagen der Wahrnehmungspsychologie (HCL - Human Centric Lighting) basiert. Anders als bei einer rein quantitativen Beleuchtungsplanung gehen wir dabei immer von der visuellen Wahrnehmung der Beleuchtung durch den Nutzer, Besucher oder Kunden aus. Diese kann sich grundlegend von einer rein auf gleichmäßigen Beleuchtungsstärken basierenden Lichtplanung unterscheiden. So setzen wir z.B. für die Orientierung in Gebäuden sehr stark auf die gleichmäßige Beleuchtung von Wänden (sog. Wandflutung) anstelle von Bodenflächen, da der Mensch evolutionsbedingt 80% seiner Wahrnehmung auf vertikalen Flächen hat und nicht auf dem Boden. Mit diesem Ansatz schaffen wir Atmosphäre, Wohlbefinden und können gleichzeitig die energetische Anschlussleistung der Beleuchtungsanlage erheblich reduzieren.

bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-15.56.53

Insgesamt ist Sehkomfort, also die konsequente Vermeidung von Blendung, einer unserer Entwurfsansätze. Geblendete Augen lassen Räume dunkler erscheinen als sie sind und ermüden schneller. Auch lenkt Blendung von Ausstellungsexponaten oder Warenpräsentationen ab. Sehkomfort ist nur bedingt messbar, jedoch sofort von jedem Nutzer erfahrbar. Gerne können Sie diese Erfahrungen in Rahmen von Workshops oder bei Bemusterungen selber mit uns erleben. Wir präsentieren unseren Entwurf auf der Grundlage von Moodboards, Visualisierungen, 3D-Simulationen und natürlich auch Lichtberechnungen für die Einhaltung der Normen.

Wir planen Licht für Menschen, Licht zum Wohlfühlen, zum Arbeiten, Licht zur Orientierung.

bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.17.14
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.18.06
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.16.13
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.27.19
bildschirmfoto-2018-07-25-um-16.16.45

Ausführungsplanung:
Nach der gemeinsamen Verabschiedung des Entwurfes beginnen wir die intensive Phase der Ausführungsplanung. Unser Fokus liegt dabei stets auf der „Baubarkeit“ und „Umsetzbarkeit“ der Lichtlösung. Hier zahlt sich unsere langjährige Erfahrung und unser Architekturhintergrund aus: Lichttechnik, Bauphysik, Elektrontechnik, Steuerungstechnik und letztendlich auch die Einhaltung des Kostenbudgets sind hier nur einige Stichworte.

Wir planen in 2- und 3D (CAD & BIM) und verschiedenen Lichtplanungs- und Simulationsprogrammen. Teilweise zeichnen wir Baudetails im Maßstab 1:1 und erarbeiten- und konstruieren auch Sonderlösungen und-leuchten bei Bedarf. Neben der Energiebilanz erstellen wir eine detaillierte Kostenberechnung inkl. TCO (Total Cost of Ownershop) Analyse.

Wir bemustern unterschiedliche Leuchten und Lichtquellen intensiv mit Originalmaterialen und –farben. Wir verfügen über ein umfangreiches Lager an Musterleuchten bzw. lichtechnischem Zubehör oder wir beschaffen die jeweiligen Leuchten für ihre Projektbemuserung schnell und pragmatisch durch unsere Direktkontakte zu allen namhaften Leuchtenherstellern.

Wir schaffen Atmosphäre durch Licht!

8

Leistungsbeschreibung & Ausschreibung:

Die Grundlage einer guten Ausschreibung ist ein präzises Leistungsverzeichnis. Wir unterstützen den gesamten Prozess der Ausschreibung, Lieferantengespräche und letztendlichen Vergabe. Dabei sind wir als Planer dem Bauherren verpflichtet und herstellerneutral und –unabhängig. Nur eine saubere Abgrenzung der Gewerke und technischen Schnittstellen gewährleistet später in der Realisierung eine reibungslose Umsetzung und vermeidet unerwünschte Nachträge. Wir pflegen gute Kontakte zu Handwerkern, Großhändlern oder auch Direktkontakte zu Leuchtenherstellern für größere Projekte.

8_4

Objektüberwachung & künstlerische Oberleitung:

Viele Projekte scheitern letztendlich an der Umsetzung. Wir begleiten die Realisierung im Rahmen der Bauleitung oder als künstlerische Oberleitung um sicherzustellen, dass die Handschrift des Entwurfs auch in der gewünschten Qualität umgesetzt wird. Insbesondere das konsequente Schnittstellenmanagement zwischen dem Bauherrn, Generalunternehmer, Architekten, Elektroplaner und Installateur ist hier ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor und basiert auf der Erfahrung aus mehr als 150 abgeschlossenen Projekten.

Und manchmal legen wir auch gerne selber Hand an....

8_3

Einleuchten:

An jedem Filmset und in jedem Theater ist das sogenannte Einleuchten ein spannender Moment und gibt den Feinschliff bevor es richtig losgeht und die Atmosphäre magisch wird. Nach der Installation der Leuchten beginnt das Einleuchten auch in Architekturprojekten: neben dem exakten Ausrichten der Leuchten, dem Anbringen von zusätzlichem optischen Zubehör gehört das Einstellen von Farborten, Dimmwerten und Lichtszenen zu dieser Leistungsphase.

Erst durch das Einleuchten wird das Optimum aus der Planung und der installierten Hardware herausgeholt. Hier zahlt sich unsere Erfahrung aus der Bühnen- und Theaterbeleuchtung aus.

Wir lieben diese Arbeit und scheuen auch luftige Höhe nicht....

bl006_0134_0076-1408x935-q80
div-161121-01-001-bearbeitet_kp3-1408x754-q80
do09025_050-1024x683-q80
img_0949-2-768x512-q80
img_3332-1408x939-q80
img_7669_kp-1408x746-q80
jl16069-1072-1408x995-q80
promenaden-l-04-fin-1408x841-q80
unknown-4-1280x853-q80
wahrnehmung-05

Unsere Projekte
Die Umnutzung einer denkmalgeschützten Unesco Weltkulturerbe-Kohlenwäsche zu einem Museum erfordert grundsätzlich andere Vorgehensweisen und Lichtplanungskonzepte als der Neubau einer 100.000qm Shoppingmall. Wir realisieren Lichtlösungen für Ausstellungen, Neubauprojekte, Renovierungen, Revitalisierungen von Industriekulturarchitekturen oder Energieberatung zur Optimierung bestehender Lichtanlagen. Unser Standort in Dortmund im Herzen des Ruhrgebietes ermöglicht es uns durch die sehr gute Verkehrsanbindung Projekte in ganz Europa auch regelmäßig vor Ort zu betreuen.

Hier haben wir einige Projekte für Sie zusammengestellt!

Kontakt

Gerne besprechen wir Ihr Projekt persönlich in einem unverbindlichen Kennenlerntermin!

Hier können Sie uns erreichen.